#100DaysOfCode Update (and what comes next!)

Photo by Bram Naus on Unsplash

#100DaysOfCode Update (and what comes next!)

Hello hashnode world! What's new? Well, actually a lot. I didn't complete this last round of #100DaysOfCode (I think I stopped around Day 36 or so) due to life events, but I did successfully complete the Javascript course I was working on from Jonas Schmedtmann last week, so I think that's cause to celebrate!

puglie-pug.gif

The course was very informative and I might try to post about some of the things I learned, including the publisher/subscriber pattern and AJAX soon. I highly suggest all of Jonas's courses to anyone who might be interested in learning how to code. He's great at breaking things down and explaining to all of us #CodeNewbies.

So, what's next? Currently, I am starting Colt Steele's Advanced Web Developer Bootcamp on Udemy, but next month I will be starting a full-time 15-week remote Full Stack Java Bootcamp from Per Scholas. I will be sure to update you on how that goes, but I am very excited and honored to be considered for this program. I am a bit nervous to be working alongside other people (I've always been a self-taught solo coder) but I think this will be a great experience for me since soft skills are often just as crucial as technical skills. With this program, ideally, I will be able to work on both!

My only hope is that my skills are up to snuff for this new program. I had to pass 2 (two!) rounds of interviews to be considered for it, so it seems to be pretty competitive. To prepare I have been diligently working on Java problems on HackerRank, reading up on algorithms, and reading some Java books that I have, including The Pragmatic Programmer and Clean Code. It all starts on November 14. Wish me luck!