Bootcamp Update and Challenges

Bootcamp Update and Challenges

hey.gif

How is everyone in Hashnode World doing? Staying well and productive I hope! As for myself, I have a few updates:

  1. As of Nov 29, I have withdrawn from my boot camp cohort due to health issues. This does not mean I'm going to stop coding, just that I am taking an alternate route in my professional journey. It just seems more natural to me to approach my career with flexibility, patience, and personal tenacity rather than with the rigidity of set deadlines, theory tests and having to be at a computer for 8 hrs a day. Not to mention, I was experiencing harassment from my peers that went without any repercussions for the perpetrator. Upon further examination, I discovered that the tech sector is rife with this kind of toxic behavior and accounts for some 70%+ of departures from the industry.

  2. I am in the process of developing a game plan for my continued success as a software engineer. This plan includes: Frontend Mentor challenges, finishing up my JavaScript DSA course from Colt Steele, learning React.js and building projects, and of course the old stand-bys (Codewars/HackerRank/Leetcode/etc.)

  3. I want to be more involved in my local tech community in the coming months. I attended a few meetups last year and have been thinking about going again. This will provide me with in-person support and maybe even a mentor/accountability partner/study buddy. Another big part of why I left my boot camp cohort was the lack of 1-on-1 interaction and personal accommodation. You just can't get that with a remote/virtual school, no matter how engaging you make it.

  4. I just completed a news homepage from FEND Mentor yesterday and feel pretty proud as it was my very first project made using JavaScript on my own! Here it is if anyone wants to take a look. I could also use some feedback if you have time! Thanks.

I think that's all for now. If you've read this far, congratulations and thank you. Until next time!