Welcome to Rose-Init.

Welcome to Rose-Init.

A place for all things tech-related.

Hi, I'm Elizabeth Rose.

I am a web developer, user advocate, and stupendous badass hailing from Oklahoma City, OK. I have built countless websites using HTML, CSS, JavaScript and Python. If you have found this blog, you might have come here from my Twitter where I am currently undergoing my second round of #100DaysOfCode.

But first, a little bit about me. I am originally from St. Louis, MO, where I grew up on DOS and Apple II computing, although I didn't actually start coding "full time" until 2013. I have always been a huge tech nerd and loved solving logic puzzles as a child. I can remember my very first laptop, which ran Windows XP when I was 12 years old in 2002. I grew up alongside Google and can remember a time before the Internet (gasp!), when the library was the preeminent source of information. It has been interesting to watch the web evolve through the years, from it being just a weird and wacky place that only a select few frequented, to it being a huge phenomenon that a large portion of the world is a part of. Back then the Internet seemed like magic to me, a wild and strange new frontier that held limitless possibilities. If only I had known back then how horribly awry things would go... but that is for another post. :)

Fast forward to 2022, when I created Init-Rose. I am currently sitting here typing this article for someone out there to read. You could be in America, Europe, Asia, India, or anywhere in between. Our global community has reached a point where it doesn't even matter where you are, and this has become both a blessing and a curse. The access to valuable information has never been more pertinent in our society, and for my part, I fully intend to disseminate what I know to be true and good in the world, however small it may be. I believe the only way humanity can move forward is through collaboration and celebration of what makes each person unique. I hope you'll stick around to see what comes next!

  • Rose